Posted by: internationalroutier | June 28, 2010

Rhyme Time #2

Another verse in our occasional series of 17thC poems dedicated to love and lust.


MERCURY’S SONG (from Amphitryon)
John Dryden (1631-1700)
Fair this I love, and hourly I die,
But not for a lip nor a languishing eye:
She’s fickle and false, and there we agree,
But I am as false and as fickle as she;
We neither believe what either can say,
And, neither believing, we neither betray.

‘Tis civil to swear and say things of course;
We mean not the taking for better for worse.
When present, we love; when absent, agree:
I think not of Iris, nor Iris of me.
The legend of love no couple can find
So easy to part, or so equally joined.

SUNG BY A YOUNG GIRL
John Dryden (1631-1700)
Young I am, and yet unskill’d
How to make a lover yield:
How to keep or how to gain,
When to love and when to feign.

Take me, take me, some of you,
While I yet am young and true;
Ere I can my soul disguise,
Heave my breasts and roll my eyes.

Stay not till I learn the way,
How to lie and to betray:
He that has me first is blest,
For I may deceive the rest.

Could I find a blooming youth,
Full of love and full of truth,
Brisk, and of a jaunty mien,
I should long to be fifteen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

